New to Oldhammer. 2nd, or 3rd edition?

zoggin-eck

Hi everyone. As said, I'm pretty new to any edition of WHFB before 4th, but I'm keen to get playing. I am, however, not sure if I like the look of 3rd more than 2nd edition...

Clearly 3rd is the "fan favourite", but reading through the rules it's all a bit much in my eyes. I must admit I'm more of an occasional player and the somewhat simpler rules and troops appeal. I own the rulebooks for both, along with Warhammer Armies for 3rd. I just got my hands on Ravening Hordes for 2nd, so I'm pretty much covered for both.

I'd love to hear the thoughts of others, and why they play either game. I understand that 3rd carries heaps of nostalgia due to the great supplements and WD articles of the time (even when I played 4th, I was lucky enough to have a mate with much older issues, so my memories of 4th are a bit more like 3rd as far as background and look go). As a "pick up and play occasionally" game, certain sections like the chariot rules seem way too complex. Perhaps it's just a matter of playing enough to remember the rules (and un-learning later editions, let along unrelated wargames!).

Army lists/options are pretty much the same when you use Ravening Hordes, so are there any "must have" rules/reasons to play 3rd?

Chico

At the end of the day, play whatever you fancy it's your hobby after all. Its not what you play but how you play it. Oldhammer is a state of mind. I'll go so far as saying that you can even get away with modern rules sets (I play them myself).

Asslessman

Agreed, a true oldhammerer is a one able to play fair with any rules. it's just the models and the paintings are better in the old books (plus there's no BS about balance). Just read what's under Oldhammer at the left upper corner of this page and you get the idea.

zoggin-eck