Anyone here sculpt their own models?

Arkansan

I've wanted to give it a go for a while, and I've got several tubes of un-mixed greenstuff and miliput staring at me from my hobby shelf. Any advice? Know of any good tutorials? Have work you want to show off?

twisted moon

not me (i struggle with even simple conversions), but there are others on here who do.
there are also a few tutorials further down this page.

Tubehead

I'm a professional sculptor. There are several other guys here do do sculpting too. HEY WHERE ARE YOU GUYS? GET OVER HERE!
Well I don't know what's become of them.
Anyway, let's see; tips...

There are all sorts of tricks that make sculpting easier.

Keep the green stuff moistened: Although some people say you should lick your tools to keep them moist, this is bad for two reasons:
1) the tiny bit of saliva will dry out in seconds. 2) you will develop CANCER from doing that since green stuff is highly carcinogenic.
Saliva is, however, the best thing for the job. I find the best thing to do is have a little tray filled with liquid. For me this liquid is always composed of two spits worth of drool and about a teaspoon full of hojicha (japanese barley tea, although I'm sure water works too). Mix this up well and if there's any lumps, well, avoid them. :roll:
When this is ready you can dip your sculpting tool into the tray and pull out about a tiny half-bead of water. Hover the tool over the work until the bead spreads into a thin - but not soaking wet - layer on it's surface. You can do some of your best sculpting when you get this right. If your tools stick to the work it's counterproductive.
I've also had good luck using a thin layer of Carmex petroleum jelly on large areas of work, but if you need to add any greenstuff after you've applied this it wont stick on properly. With drool water you can just blow on it until it's dry. :geek: